Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: FLAC to WAV to --APS, Did I Do This Right? (Read 4443 times) previous topic - next topic

FLAC to WAV to --APS, Did I Do This Right?

Ok. I am new to the mp3 encoding/compression/etc. scene. I am a complete newbie but I've read alot about it all. Anyway, here's my story:

My friend ripped some valuable albums that we co-own into FLAC. He quickly describes the process as "I ripped it into raw wav using EAC, and then compressed into a lossless FLAC format."

Well I don't have infinite hard drive space, and LAME --alt-preset standard is good enough for me, so I was wondering how to convert FLAC into --aps. I read alot about it and tried it out, and it seemed to work, but I just want to check if I did things right before deleting the FLAC copies. This is what I did.

I downloaded "foobar2000". Dragged the flac into the window, selected them all, clicked convert, and picked "WAV" single-point or sometihng. Then I got a folder full of huge WAV files, which I assume were back in perfect CD-rip quality.

I then found and downloaded LAME 3.96.1 stable bundle.zip. I right clicked on some LAMEACM.inf file and clicked install, don't know what that did but it installed something. I then took both "lame.exe" and "lame_enc.dll" and dropped them into my windows system32 folder.

I opened command prompt, and typed "lame --alt-preset standard C:/WAV/song1.wav C:/WAV/song1.mp3" and hit enter. It took like 2 minutes and then finished. I checked the song using OIDUA and it said "-aps". I played it and it sounded pretty good.