Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: audio spectrum analyzers (Read 5481 times) previous topic - next topic

audio spectrum analyzers

I'm brand new to this and I'm just trying to get the basic audio toolkit. 

I'm looking for some program that show me graphically (or descriptive text works too) how close to CD quality a certain file is.  I've seen the graphs that they produce on these forums, but I don't know what program to download.  The purpose is to be sure that whatever I just converted in FB is really loseless, sort of like a double check.  Not to mention I would want it so that I could analyze the mp3's already in my library.

Anyway, what program do you use for spectrum analysis?

Actually, now that I think about it, if there are any other really good programs in your audio toolkit that I most likely don't know about, lemme know.

audio spectrum analyzers

Reply #1
Spectrum analysis should not be used to judge the quality of an encoding.
"You can fight without ever winning, but never win without a fight."  Neil Peart  'Resist'

audio spectrum analyzers

Reply #2
what should be used then?  What do you use to make sure that what you've converted really did come out loseless, that you didn't mess up somewhere?  Like I said, I'm brand new at this, I'm sure I'm gonna mess up.

Doesn't spectrum analysis tell you if all frequency's of the audio spectrum are at 100%?  Wouldn't that help?

audio spectrum analyzers

Reply #4
what should be used then?  What do you use to make sure that what you've converted really did come out loseless, that you didn't mess up somewhere?
lossless is lossless as the name says.