Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: some newbie advice for an MP3 DJ (Read 3528 times) previous topic - next topic

some newbie advice for an MP3 DJ

I am beginning to use Stanton's Final Scratch system to mix at clubs/radio shows.  If you are unfamiliar with FS, check out their website here -- www.finalscratch.com.  Basically, it is a little device that plugs to your turntables and to a laptop and allows you to manipulate MP3s on special vinyl records that have a timecode on them, "transferring" the MP3 songs on the laptop to the vinyl records so they become like regular 12" singles on a turntable.

I am a newbie to digital audio, although I am a competent techie (sys admin, programmer, etc.).  I have a few questions that I'd love your help on:

1) I have a vast collection of wax that I plan to transfer to MP3.  What is the best way to do this?  What programs do you recommend for this?

2) I have a vast collection of MP3s of music/original mixes that is unavailable on wax and I don't need to press it to wax anymore thanks to FS.  How do I ensure optimal sound quality for them?  They vary from 128 bit to 320 bit and some are much louder than others.  Will the use of the program MP3Gain help me get the sound levels more even?  Most are good quality recordings, even at the lower bit rates.

3) What are some must-have apps for anybody like myself who is going to be manipulating and creating MP3s actively?  The only software I have right now is Winamp and a bunch of plug-ins.  I've played around with high-end recording software like Pro Tools so I'm confident I can pick almost anything up with some practice.

Reply #1