Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: strange 48khz megamix encoding (Read 4998 times) previous topic - next topic

strange 48khz megamix encoding

I'm a video producer. I want to make a shared sound library on our server so that our editing stations can access to it. All the sounds will be on a hard drive on the server.
-> Most of the sounds/musics will be ripped from audio CDs.
-> I choose to encode everything with ogg vorbis (for legal/ethical/quality reasons  ).
-> I want the best sound quality so I test the megamix encoder
-> The average bitrate should be around 256kbps so I encode @ -q7 (240kbps)

Because it's for a video purpose, the sounds must have a sample rate of 48000hz.
So I have two solutions:
- encode everything @44100hz (the editing software will have to resample AFTER decoding)
- ressample everything @48000hz BEFORE encoding (the editing software will only have to decode)

I guess the second solution is cleaner... 
I tried the both solutions, encoding from foobar2000, and the results are very strange :
Files encoded @48000 seems to sound slightly better (I have to do more ABX/listening tests to confirm this) and there are smaller than the same files encoded @44100 !!! 
Does vorbis prefer 48000hz sample rate ?

Reply #1
Does vorbis prefer 48000hz sample rate ?

Not that I know of.  The main psychoacoustics values are the same for 44.1 kHz and 48 kHz though that doesn't really say much.  Have you tried using the standard Xiph.Org coder and see if it exhibits the same thing?

Reply #2
I just tested with xiph.org/cvs encoder and the results are differents!

I do the test like this :