Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Newbie questions about AAC (Read 7768 times) previous topic - next topic

Newbie questions about AAC

Now forgive me for being total newbie here, but I (at least not yet) haven't stumbled on any informational, non-commercial and easy-to-understand site about AAC in general. Especially one which would concentrate on archival quality, not internet streaming!

With just the slightest bit of trouble from experts, I would be much happier . Questions follow:

1) Is AAC the same thing as DVD's AC-3?

2) Wasn't AAC so very strongly patented and licenced that freeware encoding/decoding tools are nonexistent, rendering it useless to end-user (like me..) who won't pay 249$ for 2GB monster-multimedia-encoding-package?

3) Come on, is AAC REALLY that superior to current quality standards, like MPC?

4) Back in LAME 3.87, I was asking very similar questions about MP3 quality. Luckily "mp3 quality" google search pointed me to r3mix.net which answered my questions more than adequatly. Is there this kind of page for AAC?

Thanks for your trouble!

niktheblak

Reply #1
Hi,

You will find some of your answers on:

[a href='http://www.audiocoding.com' target='_blank'][/a]

The site is not complete yet, but be patient!

AC-3 is Dolby's proprietary multi-channel codec, Mpeg4 is an international standard.

I am no expert, but maybe that helps?

Reply #2
Originally posted by niktheblak
1) Is AAC the same thing as DVD's AC-3?

No.