Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: New to mpc...where do I start? (Read 9435 times) previous topic - next topic

New to mpc...where do I start?

Reply #25
I am a musician of 24 years, a professional musician of 14 years. I  play and listen to many forms of expression and I, too, am critical when it comes to music.  Knowing that we're dealing with compression and music together, I afforded the compression schemes some leniency when I used to use Lame.  However, with MPC, I feel I don't have to, or not as much as before.  In all my 800+ cds I've only had an audible acoustical problem from MPC about 5 times.  One of those was a blatant encoding glitch that I missed halfway through the song when I was checking the finished encoded files.  The other times the resulting files just didn't sound as close to the originals as I've come to expect from MPC.  Nevertheless, I still use MPC and recommend it highly because I can live with that level of success rate.

I forgot to mention,  I have used the Insane setting from day one and don't have the problems reported by others here. My ears are healthy and very well kept(earplugs at concerts, etc).

Reply #26
What is the best setting for mpc batch encoder to achieve the best quality?

this is a dangerous question to ask...as the musepack format can theoretically achieve bitrates higher than 1000kbps [1 mb]

i see no need in any situation to pass:

--insane --nmt 16 --tmn 32

that is generally considered the "reasonable ceiling"