Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Metadata & multi value separators / delimiters across audio formats ? (Read 5607 times) previous topic - next topic

Metadata & multi value separators / delimiters across audio formats ?

Hi,
I started this as a reply to this thread, but it then escalated in length & scope... so I thought I'd make a new thread.
https://hydrogenaud.io/index.php/topic,102013.25.html

Essentially I'm trying to find out more about what the state of multi value / separated metadata is.  To start out, I am by no means a programmer, I'm just using Foobar & Musicbee mostly, and their handling is pretty similar, but it still opened up some questions...
And so far I've only started looking into 2 formats as this started as a feature request with 3 "professional" audio software devs who have no support of multi value metadata whatsoever and imo it would help a lot if they did...

What I've found so far:
MP3, id3v2.3.0:
http://id3.org/id3v2.3.0
"4.2.1. Text information frames - details
TCOM
    The 'Composer(s)' frame is intended for the name of the composer(s). They are seperated with the "/" character.
"

FLAC:
http://www.xiph.org/vorbis/doc/v-comment.html
"Field names are not required to be unique (occur once) within a comment header. As an example, assume a track was recorded by three well know artists; the following is permissible, and encouraged:
              ARTIST=Dizzy Gillespie
              ARTIST=Sonny Rollins
              ARTIST=Sonny Stitt
"